The Portfolio Blog of Amanda Wagner

I recently finished up at BlueSky Studios on Rio 2 and had an absolutely amazing time. This is the second time that I’ve gone to BlueSky and every time I go I learn more and more, so I thought why stop there. I wanted to keep growing and learning so I thought it would be fun to do animation exercise, so that I can explore options and ideas and really play around with rigs. One big thing that I learned from them is to keep pushing your animation, not only in the poses themselves but in the ideas as well.

The idea for this first exercise came from the simple bouncing ball. I wanted to take that idea and add a character on top of it and something fun to do on top of that. I kept it simple with a series of different bounces that loop, where he goes from happy to irritated.  It was a fun look into different ways to move the limbs.

Here is a great resource for animation exercises: http://www.animatorisland.com/51-great-animation-exercises-to-master/

A bunch of the animations I plan on doing in the future have come from this list. It’s a great way to get started and build up your animation skills.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

